Wes Dyring with Mark Stone and Friends

Wes Dyring with Mark Stone and Friends

Saturday, July 8 at 7:30pm
Bahá’í Center of Washtenaw County
5550 Morgan Road, Ypsilanti, Michigan 48197
Violist/violinist/arranger Wes Dyring, violist with the multi Grammy-winning Seattle Symphony, returns to the Ann Arbor area and his home state of Michigan with a fascinatingly diverse program, including Schumann’s delightful Fairy Tales, Ravel’s indolent Habanera and the inspiring Meditation from Thaïs by Massenet. Leading world multi-percussionist and composer Mark Stone will also join in with a set of his own compositions—a unique synthesis of multiple world traditions—as well as on Wes’ innovative and captivating arrangements of authentic Latin music for his Seattle group Wesito & Friends.
Assisting Wes and Mark are guest artists Bob Schneeweis, piano; Marcia Hilden Anderson, clarinet; Matt Dufresne, saxes; Miles Brown, bass; and Dan Piccolo and Alex Dyring, percussion.
Hear music of Wes Dyring at dyringmusic.com and Mark Stone at markstonepercussion.com.
Join us for this special, not-to-be-missed event! Admission is FREE. Refreshments will be served after the program.
Venue Information >

About Wesley Dyring

Violist, Seattle Symphony dyringmusic.com
This entry was posted in Arrangements, Performances, Viola, Violin, World Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wes Dyring with Mark Stone and Friends

  1. Our Ann Arbor concert is almost here! I’m really excited to be doing this. It’s going to be great making music with Mark Stone, Bob Schneeweis, Matt Dufresne, Dan Piccolo and Miles Brown. Also – I am really happy that I finally have the opportunity to perform with the other two professional musicians in my family: my son Alex Dyring, a bassist and Berklee graduate who will be playing percussion with us, and my stepmother Marcia Hilden Anderson, an outstanding clarinettist with a PhD in performance from Michigan State.

    The Bahá’í Center where we are having the concert is less than four miles from the house I was living in when I began piano lessons and wrote my first composition at age eight. That composition was very adventuresome for a first-year music student.

    When I was a senior in high school, my career goal was to be a rock and jazz violinist. Well, here I am fulfilling that goal performing in the world music-based jazz compositions of Mark Stone. I have also been interested in world music since childhood. African roots music has had an impact on me, having grown up hearing my mother’s childhood stories of living in Africa for fifteen years. This is going to be so much fun!

    Like

    • Beverly Moore says:

      Hey Wes. This is Bev Moore. I’m coming to the concert and bringing my parents. So looking forward to Saturday evening! I hadn’t realized Alexander is performing with you. You must be delighted about that!

      Like

      • Bev, that’s fantastic!!! I really look forward to seeing you and meeting your parents. Yes, it’s wonderful being with Alexander and feels great to play with him. He really is a very talented musician, and it really shows even on an instrument he does not normally play. I’m so glad you can be there.

        Like

  2. Thank you to all who attended our concert. You were the ones that really made this a success. We could not have done this without your spirit and energy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

